ARCA Town: Looking Ahead to 2014
Previewing the Season Opener at Daytona and Beyond
By Elgin Traylor and Kevin Ramsell,
Daytona Winner a Champion?
In 1969 and 1970, Benny Parsons and Ramo Stott won the Daytona International Speedway (FL) ARCA Racing Series event and then went on to win the series championship.  It has not been done since.  Could a potential champion be in victory lane when the first checkered flag falls on February 15?  Only time will tell. 

Hat in the Ring
Early on, Frank Kimmel has to be a favorite for the ARCA Racing Series' 2014 championship.  An off-season switch to Win-Tron Racing only solidifies "King Kimmel's" place as the frontrunner for what could be his 11th ARCA title.  Worthy challengers include Grant Enfinger, John Wes Townley, Mason Mitchell, Justin Boston and others.

Kimmel Has the Most Wins in ARCA, but...
Last year, Frank Kimmel passed Iggy Katona to have the most wins in the ARCA Racing Series with 80 victories to go along with his record setting 10 championships.  But, he has yet to visit victory lane at Daytona.
Kimmel has finished second twice in the 200-mile annual event at Daytona.  He finished in the runner-up position in 2004 behind Kyle Busch and in 2005 to Bobby Gerhart.  Last year, he finished fourth.

Enfinger's Year to Shine?
On the back of a strong 2013 campaign, Alabama's Grant Enfinger is in the title fight.  After being a part-time guy each of the last two years, he returns to a planned full season.  Enfinger ran for points back in 2011 and finished fourth.  In 51 starts, Enfinger has 33 top 10's and 21 finishes in the top five.  Things will only get better as he looks for a championship.

Jones to Replace Mingus in the 32 Ride
Win-Tron Racing has announced that Terry Jones will drive the team’s signature No. 32 Toyota Camry in the Lucas Oil 200 presented by MAVTV American Real Feb. 15 at Daytona International Speedway. Mason Mingus, the team's ARCA pilot in 2013, has taken a step up the racing ladder to the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series with Win-Tron in 2014.

Jones’s partnership with the Mooresville, North Carolina-based team stems from a long-time friendship with crew chief Mark Rette.  Now, the two peers will unite as one for a minimum of two ARCA Racing Series events this season, which also includes the race at Talladega Superspeedway the first weekend in May.

Elliott & Kwasniewski Look to Prove Themselves
Recent Speedfest winner Chase Elliott and 2013 NASCAR K&N Pro Series East Champion Dylan Kwasniewski are entered for the Saturday, February 15 event to help get ready for their NASCAR Nationwide Series opener on February 22. 

Like many other young drivers have done in the past, Elliott and Kwasniewski will use this race as the final stepping-stone to get certified by NASCAR to compete in the NNS season opener.  Both could be a contender for the win as they were able to get plenty of drafting experience during last month’s Daytona Preseason Thunder Testing. 
Kwasniewski set the fastest time during the two-day test session.

Elliott will be driving the No. 9 Chevrolet with his father Bill listed as the car owner.  Kwasniewski be in the No. 4 Turner Motorsports Chevrolet.  

Gerhart Looking for Ninth Daytona Win
One driver who is always a favorite at Daytona is Bobby Gerhart.  The veteran driver will be looking for his ninth Lucas Oil 200 Presented by MAVTV Real American victory.  Gerhart has won the event eight times in the last 15 years with victories in 1999, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2011 and 2012.  Last year Gerhart finished 29th after falling out with mechanical issues.

John Wes Townley scored the ARCA victory at Daytona in 2013.