Four of six nominees selected as Regional Auto Racing Promoters of the Year by readers of Racing Promotion Monthly are first-time nominees. The nominees’ experience ranges from three years to nearly 30 years and among them are promoters of three paved ovals and three dirt ovals.  Two are affiliated with NASCAR for weekly racing, one with ASA, one with IMCA, and two are independent.

The nominees are: Region One, Eastern Region: Andy Cusack, Beech Ridge (ME) Speedway; Region Two, Southeastern Region; Phyliss and Joe Loven, Volunteer (TN) Speedway; Region Three, Central Region; Rich Farmer, Fremont (OH) Speedway; Region Four, Northern Region: Ron and Scott Wimmer, State Park (WI) Speedway; Region Five, Great Plains Region; Roger Hadan, Eagle (NE) Raceway; Region Six, Southwest and Western Region; Doug and Traci Hobbs, Evergreen (WA) Speedway. Cusack’s nomination is his second.  His father was a 1992 nominee.  Hadan’s nomination is his second.  He was also nominated in 2011. Ron Drager and Scott Schultz, Flat Rock (MI) and Toledo (OH) Speedways, received the award last year.  Previous winners are: Hugh Deery, 1976/1984; J.C. Agajanian, 1977; D. Anthony Venditti, 1978; Jack Gunn, 1979; George Eisenhart, 1980; Dick O’Brien, 1981; Howard Tiedt, 1982; Don Martin, 1983; Glenn Donnelly, 1985; Cary Agajanian, 1986; Bud Lunsford, 1987; Bob Daniels, 1988; Howard Commander, 1989; Ray Wilkings, 1990; Paul Kuhl, 1991; Robert Lawton; 1992; Earl Baltes, 1993;  Jody Deery, 1994; Andy Vertrees, 1995; Charles Powell, 1996; C-Ray Hall, 1997; Larry Kemp, 1998; Charles Cathell, 1999; Charles Deery, 2000; Ralph Capitani, 2001; Lanny Edwards, 2002; Bob & Nadine Strauss, 2003; Tom Curley, 2004, Steve York, 2005; John Padjen, 2006; Lynn Phillips, 2007; Joe & Walt Doellefeld, 2008; the Nuckles family, 2009; the Queensland family, Deer Creek (MN) Speedway, 2010; and Robert Sargent, Track Enterprises, Macon (IL), Paducah (KY) Speedways, 2011.

The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year is short track racing’s most prestigious award. It is awarded each year after voting by promoters. The award was originated in 1976 by the editor of Racing Promotion Monthly. Voting is conducted in two phases: a preliminary ballot in the newsletter nominates candidates in six regions. The six candidates become Regional Promoters of the Year and then appear on a second ballot for final voting. It is the only national award recognizing promotional excellence selected by peers.  The award is for the 24th year of sponsorship by Charlotte Motor Speedway. The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year ballot will soon reach promoters in the latest issue of Racing Promotion Monthly. The Thirty-Eighth Auto Racing Promoter of the Year will be revealed during the 41st Annual RPM Speedweek National Workshop at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, Daytona Beach, FL, February 17, 2014.

Regional Auto Racing Promoters of the Year Nominees Announced
Promoters to Vote for Racing Promotion Monthly Award
Racing Promotion Monthly press release