With a great save following pressure from behind him in the final turn on the final lap Sunday at Evergreen Raceway Park, Brian Sones of Freeland held off Jerry Hildebrand to the stripe to claim his first career Modified main event victory. Following an action packed Late Model event a two position penalty to the driver that took the checkers first. The end result was a win for Kyle Harvell of New York, NY. Tom Casagrande of Drums dominated the Pure Stock feature to score his second victory of the year and Frank Hughes, Jr. of Pittston notched his first Four Cylinder win of the season. Bruce Carmen of Shaftsbury, VT went to victory lane in the ACOT Midget car main, as did Bob Campbell of Danville in the ACOT Sprint Car feature.

From the pole position, Sones led the Modified drivers to the drop of the green flag in the 35-lap main event. He led that first circuit over Todd Baer, Donny Hartzell, Randall Richard and Jerry Hildebrand.

With eight laps complete and with Sones still showing the way, Richard overtook Hartzell for third. Hildebrand followed through to take fourth. Four laps later Hildebrand shot by Richard to grab third.

Sones held a four car length lead over Baer just before halfway, but Baer began to get pressure from Hildebrand for second. With 17 laps in the books, Hildebrand took the spot and set his sights on the leader. Meanwhile, Richard and Paul Frantz battled for fourth.

With time winding down and without any caution flags, Hildebrand had one last shot at Sones in the final two turns. In a last ditch effort to steal a first career victory for Sones, Hildebrand laid his bumper to the leader and turned him sideways. Sones stayed in the throttle and took the checkers. Hildebrand crossed the stripe in second, followed by Baer, Richard and Frantz.

Todd Baer and Donny Hartzell scored heat race wins.

After winning the heat race earlier in the day, Kyle Harvell started from the pole and led the Late Model field to the drop of the green in the 30-lap feature. As the field entered turn one, something appeared to break on Mark Tyson’s car and he drifted up the track and into Steve Shultz. With nowhere to go, Geno Steigerwalt was also collected and towed by to the pit area, along with Tyson. Shultz headed to the pits for repairs and rejoined the event.

Green flag racing resumed and Harvell stayed out front. With seven laps completed Shultz, Paul Koehler, Jr, Jake Nemeth and Josh Oswald pursued him. However, the action slowed on lap 13 when Koehler spun in turn two.

Following the restart, Shultz began to apply pressure on Harvell. After getting the leader sideways on a few occasions, Shultz took the top spot on lap 18. Two laps later Harvell applied a little pressure of his own to Shultz and took him around as the raced through turns three and four on lap 20. The change of events gave the lead to Koehler.

As the laps wound down Shultz moved back into second, followed by Harvell. Prior to entering turn three on the final circuit, Shultz and Koehler tangled. Shultz came out of turn four and took the checkers first but was penalized two positions for rough riding, along with Koehler.

Harvell, who crossed the stripe in second, was awarded the win, which was his second of the season. Nemeth finished second in his first Evergreen start, followed by Shultz, Koehler and Oswald.

Following the heat race victory, Tom Cassagrande led the Pure Stock field to the drop of the green flag in the 20-lap contest and led the opening circuit over Matt Mattern, Jr, Scott Sipe, Frank Katona and Stephanie Moyer.

With Cassagrande still showing the way and with six laps complete, Moyer disposed of Katona for fourth. With six laps remaining she overtook Sip for third and prayed for a yellow flag.

The yellow flag waved with three laps remaining, but it was for Moyer herself, whose car slowed and coasted into the infield.

Green flag racing resumed and Cassagrande was untouchable to the end and scored his second win of the season over Mattern, Sip and Katona.

Frank Hughes led the Four Cylinder field to the green flag in the 20-lap Four Cylinder feature. He led the first circuit over Luke Colleran, Clem Underwood, Ron Heeter and Harry Sager.

Nick Baer and Sager battled each other hard and Baer got by to crack the top five. He then got by Heeter for the fourth spot on lap three and then three laps later he overtook Underwood for third. Following a lap seven yellow flag, he snuck by Colleran for second and began to reel in Hughes.

Just past halfway, he worked around Hughes and into the top spot. However, his lead came to an end on lap 16 when Sager and Baer tangled off of turn two. Following an on track display, both drivers were black flagged and told to stay in the pits.

As the leader, Hughes remained in control over the closing laps and drove off to his first win of the season over Colleran, Underwood and Mike Campbell.

Luke Colleran and Nick Baer were the heat race winners.

The Atlantic Coast Old Timers made a visit to the speedway for competition. Bruce Carmen held off Jim Leys to take the Midget victory and Bob Campbell bested Bill Goodfellow to score the Sprint Car win.

Evergreen Raceway Park is just minutes from Hazleton, Pa, located on St. John’s Road, between Routes 93 and 309. For more information, including upcoming shows, rules, payouts and news, please visit www.evergreenracewaypark.com.

In Style, Brian Sones Hangs on to Score First Evergreen Modified Victory
Sones Holds Off Hildebrand for First Win
Evergreen Speedway press release