Mike Perrotte, Airborne Park Speedway Part Ways on Good Terms

Last week, Airborne Park Speedway (NY) promoter Mike Perrotte resigned from his position at the track after working at the facility since 2005. Perrotte had made great strides improving the facility and on-track product over the last eight seasons while working at the track.

Speed51.com spoke with Perrotte on Tuesday about his decision to resign from his position at Airborne. Perrotte cited a difference of opinions with track owner Jamie Atkins as the reason for his departure, but stressed that the two parties ended on good terms.

“There wasn’t one argument or disagreement,” Perrotte said. “I just had different opinions than they did and choose to walk away on good terms.  Everything is amicable between myself and the speedway at this point, as well as the owner.  I’m going to move forward and do some things and they’ll do what they do.  I wish Jamie and everyone involved with the track success in the future. “

Perrotte is unsure of his future plans in the racing industry, but told 51 that he hopes to continue being involved in promoting short track racing.

In a statement on the Airborne Park Speedway website, track owner Jamie Atkins said, “I wish Mike the very best in
his future endeavors and look forward to working and racing with him.”

Airborne Park Speedway begins their racing season on May 3.

Rowe, Elder Among 2014 Inductees to Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame

“The Maine Racing Legend” Mike Rowe will be one of seven inductees into the Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame’s class of 2014.  The induction ceremony will be held at the Augusta Civic Center on Saturday, April 5 with the awards ceremony beginning at 6 p.m.

Rowe is a three-time Oxford 250 champion, seven-time Oxford Plains Speedway (ME) Pro Stock champion and two-time Pro Series champion at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (ME).

Long-time Beech Ridge Motor Speedway announcer Bruce Elder will join Rowe, Bobby Alexander, Jim Burns, Leland Kangas, Rodney ‘Chink’ Maynard and Bob Tibbets as part of the 2014 class.

Tickets are available, but forms must be received by March 20.  You can find the form on the Beech Ridge Motor Speedway’s Facebook page here.

350 Super Modifieds will Return to Star Speedway in 2014; First SBM 125 Entry Filed

For the first time since 2006, 350 Super Modifieds will be racing at Star Speedway (NH) in 2014.  The track announced a three race Triple Crown series that will include racing during the prestigious Star Classic event on September 6.  The 350 Super “Outlaw” Series will also race at the track on June 7 and August 13.

According to the track's Facebook page, the first two events will pay $700 to the winner, while the final event will pay $1200.

In addition to the news about the 350 Super Modifieds, the track has also announced that they’ve received their first entry for the SBM 125 open-modified event.  Matt Swanson was the first official entry into the event with his No. 40.

Stafford Motor Speedway SK Modified drivers offer their thoughts on SK 5K

One of the most anticipated SK Modified events of the 2014 racing season will take place on July 4th at Stafford Motor Speedway (CT).  With a purse of over $27,000 and $5,000 for the winner, drivers are excited to race at their home track for big money.

2013 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion and SK Modified competitor Ryan Preece is excited about the show that he and the rest of the drivers will put on for the fans.  

“It’s a big paying race and it not only pays up front but it pays well down throughout the field,” Preece said in a track press release.  "I think the format is pretty interesting.   Whether my car has a full tank of fuel or not, it handles the same.   Sometimes when you race for big money you have to do things for the fans.   The fans are why we’re there.   They want to see a show and hopefully that’s what we’re going to be able to give them that night.”

2013 Stafford SK Modified champion Woody Pitkat offered up his thoughts on the outsiders who may come in an attempt to steal the show.

“I’m sure you’re going to see a lot of guys from other tracks come to Stafford to try to win some of that money,” said Pitkat.  “I’m sure you’ll see some guys from Waterford and Thompson as well as some other guys like Matt Hirschman show up that night.”

More information on the event can be found on the tracks website at www.staffordmotorspeedway.com.

2014 Icebreaker Entries Starting to Arrive for Granite State Pro Stock Series

With less than three weeks remaining until Icebreaker weekend at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (CT), entries are beginning to pile up for the Granite State Pro Stock Series season opener on April 5.
2013 GSPSS champion Mike O’Sullivan is among those who have already filed entries with more expected to pile in during the weeks leading up to the event.

A number of drivers will hope to begin their championship mark that weekend including former Beech Ridge Motor Speedway Pro Series champion Bradley Babb, who has filed his entry for the event.

O’Sullivan and Babb will be joined at Thompson on April 4- 5 by the following drivers who have already filed entries:
Dennis Maxfield, Brad Babb, Dillon Moltz, Ron Rice, Derik Griffith, George Bessette, Greg Nanigian, Barry Gray, Fran Colson, Jr., Dave Macomber, Mike Parks, and Ron Smith.

Dirt Modifieds Become a Popular Staple at Mahoning Valley

Five years after former Mahoning Valley Speedway (PA) track promoter Doug Hoffman first thought up the idea of running dirt Modifieds at his asphalt track, the class came into its own in 2013.  Ricky Ross, Jr. won the season-ending Octoberfast  60-lap event, becoming the ninth different winner of the season.  Jeff Parker earned the division championship on a tiebreaker, more wins, over Ricky Yetter. 

Aleia Geisler, JP Curry, Mike Stofflet, Dave Thomas, Kris Graver and Mark Levy all went to victory lane in 20134 and drivers such as Dave Gorbatuk, Ray Deemer, Mark Martini and Billy Lowden, Jr. all knocked on the door.  Close racing and close finishes was the norm which made the Dirt Modified class of ’13 one to remember and a hard act to follow.

In 2014, Mahoning has added additional bigger paying races for the dirt Mods starting with Opening Night’s 40-lap feature paying $1000 to win.  On June 14 the first place prize will be $1200 and 50 laps the distance while the Octoberfast 60 on October 26 will once again reward the victor with a yet to be announced hefty payout.

Speed51.com's Northern Exposure
Short Track News From New England and Beyond
By Brandon Paul, Speed51.com Northeast Editor - Twitter: @CLNS_Brandon

Mike Rowe (right) will be inducted into the Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame.
Ryan Preece wants to win the big money show at Stafford.
Mike O'Sullivan will head to Thompson to start 2014.