2013 SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Rookie of the Year Jeremy Doss claimed the second "DC's RV Center 100" during an exciting opening night at Kern County Raceway Park.  The new speedway west of Bakersfield also saw wins go to Bill Sedgwick, Eric Olson, and Tyler Bannister.

Doss' win came after he traded the lead five times with 2010 series champion Jonathon Gomez of Twin Falls, ID.

Washington rookie Garret Archer led the field to green but quickly fell back with a tire failure, handing the lead to his NTS teammate Greg Voigt.  Voigt led the first eight laps before loosing the lead to Gomez on lap nine.  2013 champion Jim Pettit saw his 2014 title hopes take a big hit when he slammed the turn two wall on lap 14, from an apparent tire failure as well.

Doss stayed in tow with Gomez throughout several caution flags, sticking his nose inside Gomez multiple times.  Finally Doss took over the lead on lap 46.  A lap 50 restart gave the lead back to Gomez, before he went wide in turn four to hand the lead back to Doss.

Hannah Newhouse hit the inside backstretch wall to bring out a brief red flag, and Gomez seized the opportunity to take the lead back from Doss on the ensuing restart.  On lap 79, Doss finally broke free from the battle with Gomez to take a commanding lead.

A late caution period on lap 83 saw 2013 Pro Late Model champion Tim Smith spin, and that set up a challenge for the lead from 2012 series champion Derek Thorn.  Doss was able to keep Thorn at bay to take a .342 second victory with 2013 CITGO Lubricants Late Model champion David Mayhew in third.

"I can't thank my crew enough;  they gave me a great car," Doss said.  "Those last 12 or 14 laps with Thorn and Mayhew I was wailing it for all I had.  I thought for sure he going to get me.  It's nerve wracking having the best behind you."

17 INEX Legends were in action chasing track, SRL, and INEX points in a co-sanctioned race.  Bakersfield's Eric Olson scored his first career victory after a race with many twists and turns.

Tony Mangini of Benicia paced the field through lap 24 with Brandon Weaver in tow, before the pair came together with Mangini spinning.  Weaver was sent to the rear of the field and on the restart got tangled up with Sonny Sparks in a wild backstretch crash with Sparks climbing the wall briefly.

Mark Iungerich of Granada Hills and Benicia's Timmy Mangini took control of the field before they came together on the white flag lap in their own battle for the race win.  Olson assumed the lead and took off on the final restart to claim to his first victory ahead of Mangini, Johnathan St. Ours, Blainke Perkins, and Donna Gunther of Las Vegas.

The INEX Bandolero event had its own storylines with 2013 defending champion Tyler Bannister overcoming adversity to get back into victory lane.  North State area drivers Sammy Nuno and Colby Furia led the early laps of the race before Ryan "The Rhino" Vargas took over on lap eight.  Bannister and Furia spun while battling for the second position to bring out a caution.

Bannister methodically worked his way through the pack, and had a straightaway deficit to Vargas when the caution came out on lap 15.  The caution erased Vargas' lead, and set up a crossover-filled battle that ended with Bannister taking over the lead on lap 21.

Bannister never looked back taking a 1.3 second win with Vargas coming home second, followed by Furia, Dylan Washburn, and Nuno.

Popular veteran driver and crew chief Bill Sedgwick won the SRL S2 Tour Series 40 lap event.  Bakersfield's Brandon Weaver had the race in hand with eight laps to go but spun while working around lapped traffic in turn two.

Sedgwick capitalized to a .411 second victory over early race leader Kyle Whisner, followed by Johnny Butler, a hard-charging Weaver, and Nastasia Dodd.

Kern County Raceway Park returns to action next Saturday night for Monster Energy NASCAR Opening Night with NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Model Twin 35s along with NASCAR Spec-Mods, Legends, and Bandoleros.

April 5, 2014 DC's RV Center 100
Kern County Raceway Park - Bakersfield, CA

SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour -  DC's RV Center 100
1) 75 Jeremy Doss, 2) 43 Derek Thorn, 3) 17 David Mayhew, 4) 19 Brandon White, 5) 22 Jonathon Gomez, 6) 16 Jacob Gomes, 7) 14 Craig Raudman, 8) 29 Greg Voigt, 9) 52 Cole Loftsguard, 10) 37 Keith Spangler, 11) 66 Jeff Bischofberger, 12) 90 Ross Strmiska, 13) 51 Carlos Vieria, 14) 33 MK Kanke, 15) 24 Scott Sanchez, 16) 99 Tim Smith, 17) 21 Garret Archer, 18) 57 David Ross, 19) 54 Donny St. Ours, 20) 61 Hannah Newhouse, 21) 20 Tracy Bolin, 22) 18 Jim Pettit 59:11.153

SRL S2 Tour Series - 20 lap #1
1) 50 Bill Sedgwick, 2) 77 Kyle Whisner, 3) 59 Johnny Butler, 4) 15 Brandon Weaver, 5) 81 Nastasia Dodd, 6) 99 Chris Morrison, 7) 0 Bill Waters, 8) 45 Dave Lowenstein, 9) 44 Karon Lowenstein DQ: 46 Daryl Scoggins 21:06.165

INEX Legend - 35 laps
1) 17 Eric Olson, 2) Timmy Mangini, 3) 16 Johnathan St. Ours, 4) 21 Blaine Perkins, 5) 88 Donna Gunther, 6) 77 Tony Mangini, 7) 31 Eddie Garone, 8) 5 Garrett Fine, 9) 24 Colton Page, 10) 32 Danny Nikolai, 11) 7 Mark Iungerich, 12) 15 Brandon Weaver, 13) 54 Kevin Boyer, 14) Alan Lawless, 15) 19 Chad Actis, 16) 80 Sonny Sparks, 17) 71 Josh Ayers 32:21.727

INEX Bandolero - 25 laps
1) 51 Tyler Bannister, 2) 23 Ryan Vargas, 3) 97 Colby Furia, 4) 7 Dylan Washburn, 5) 15 Sammy Nuno, 6) 05 Kabe McClenny, 7) 29 Braden Rogers 12:13.055
Jeremy Doss Takes DC's RV Center 100 at Kern Raceway
2013 SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Rookie of the Year Wins at Kern
By Steven Blakesley, Kern County Raceway Press Release