The Icebreaker, presented by Town Fair Tire, will mark the beginning of Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park’s 74th season of operation.  The 2014 running of the event will mark the 40th time it has been held.  The traditional season-opening event will feature nine divisions, headlined by the first championship race for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour (NWMT). 

Defending NWMT Champion, Ryan Preece, will begin his title defense behind the wheel of the Eric Sanderson-owned No. 16, but it won’t be without some stiff competition.  Doug Coby headlines an impressive list of drivers who will be behind the wheel of another car this season. Coby teamed up with Mike Smeriglio, III to drive the Dunleavy’s Truck & Trailer Repair Chevrolet.  Another driver on the move this year was nine-time NASCAR regional touring series champion, and defending Icebreaker race winner, Mike Stefanik. The Coventry, RI-native has teamed up with car owner Ed Marceau to drive the No. 1 entry.  Tommy Barrett, a standout on the Valenti Modified Racing Series, replaced Stefanik in Chris Our’s No. 22 Chevrolet.  The young driver will look to make his third start on the NWMT.  Defending TSMP Sunoco Modified Champion, Keith Rocco, has entered the No. 48 car, which he will be driving for John Rufrano.   

The New Hampshire-based Granite State Pro Stock Series (GSPSS) will also begin their season at the Icebreaker.  Going into their third season, the GSPSS first visited TSMP for the first time in 2013.  George Bessette, who is entered for this year’s event, was the inaugural race winner at Icebreaker 2013.  Defending, and two-time American-Canadian Tour Champion, Wayne Helliwell, Jr. has entered, as well as defending GSPSS Champion, Mike O’Sullivan.  Young guns Derek Griffith, Brad Babb, and Dillon Moltz also have indicated their intentions to compete in the 50-lap main event. The Icebreaker, presented by Town Fair Tire, will kick off a 10-race campaign for GSPSS, which will end with the championship-crowing event at the Sunoco World Series of Speedway Racing, presented by Xtra Mart.

TSMP’s four NASCAR Whelen All-American Series divisions will also be in action. Defending Sunoco Modified Champion, Keith Rocco, will be leading the charge as he begins his title defense.  Rocco, will be doing triple duty, as he also will be competing in the Late Model Division and the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour.  Six-time TSMP Champion, Glenn Boss, has registered his No. 3 Late Model and he will look to add to his record number of track championships.  “Leadfoot” Larry Barnett will be returning to competition, after a horrific wreck ended his 2013 season early. The multi-time divisional champion has his eyes on another title.  The Baxter brothers will once again return to the Mini Stock Division in 2014 with the goal being the division’s top honor.

The Lite Modifieds, New England Truck Series, and Vintage Outlaws will all be in competition, also.

The weekend event begins on Friday, April 4, with an optional practice day for race teams.  Practice and qualifying will take place prior to four feature events on Saturday night, including segment races for the Limited Sportsman and Mini Stock divisions. Seven feature events headline the race program on Sunday with all of the on-track activity beginning at 12:30pm. For more information about the Icebreaker, presented by Town Fair Tire, or about TSMP, please visit our website –, or connect with us on Facebook and Twitter.

To purchase tickets for the event, please call the TSMP office at (860) 923-2280.

Thompson Kicks Off 74th Season With Icebreaker
Season-Opening Event to Feature Nine Divisions Including NWMT
By Track PR