Mother nature finally shined on Shady Bowl Speedway after a month of cold wet weather. The Bowl hosted six divisions of cars and some of the best racing of the season. The events were marred by a crash in the Tuner class involving Holli Eaton. The accident happened on the first lap when she had contact with another car. The car then careened drivers side first into the wall coming off turn two. Eaton was transferred to a local hospital for treatment. Gary Eaton (Holli’s husband), stated that she was treated and released. 

The late model main saw Nathan Herron have mechanical woes that parked his #110 car. Herron then stepped into Russ Bobb’s #53. Herron led the first fifteen laps before points leader Josh Smith sped by. Smith opened up a large lead in his Smith Motorsports ride and took the checker ahead of Brad Koons, John Stroble, Jacob Muncy and  Dylan Troyer. Herron’s night was bittersweet in the #53, as he won his heat, but got into the wall in the main ending his night. Austin Troyer was the dash winner.

Joe Pequigtot dominated the modifieds, as he lead every lap in his R&R Paint and Body openwheeler.. Rob Yelton was second, with Brad Williams third, Buddy Townsend . fourth and fast qualifier Shane Shirk fifth. Williams was the dash winner with Chris Parker the heat winner.;

The tuner feature saw Terry Eaton dominate the race in his Honda.. Eaton dedicated his win to Holli Eaton who ws injured on lap one. Chris Crozier was second with Larry Kemp third,  Eddie Kemp fourth and Jake Moody fifth. Holli Eaton was the dash winner with Les Rhodes winning the heat.

In Pro-4 action Justin Meed held off the challeges by Steve Clarkson to take the win. David Gerstner was third, Matt Thompson was fourth, with Paul Hazlett fifth. Clarkson carried the checker in he heat.

The street stock feature also saw big crash as Buck Purtee had the throttle stick wide open and he hit the fourth turn wall. Purtee was uninjured but his just built car was heavily damaged. Dave Sage of Piqua held off Rodney Roush to take the feature win. Ray Muncie was third, Robert Roush was fourth and Roger Thornhill fifth. Purtee won the dash, with Sage and Sullenberger taking heat wins

Six Winners at Shady Bowl
A Month of Cold, Wet Weather Ends with Exciting Night in Ohio
Shady Bowl Speedway press release