Shady Bowl Speedways fans were treated  to a full night of speed Saturday (5/17). It turned into a very cold night once the sun  set with fans looking like they were at a football game.

The  94 lap late model feature is held annually. The event is held to honor the memory of late model legend Robbie Dean. Dean, a many time track champion, before he lost his battle with cancer in 2008.

A full field of 24 of the finest late model drivers in Ohio showed up to do battle. Greg Stapleton, who was last years series winner, set fast time with a 13.599. The dash was won by Don Mahaffey, with Josh Smith and Jim Lewis Jr. taking the heat wins. Former track champion Bobby Justus took the lead at the drop of the starters Charlie Gifford’s flag. Justus led until lap 25 when he and Don Mahaffey traded some paint. Justus who slowed down after the contact bringing out the yellow. Bill Burba took over the lead on the restart in his Platinum Express backed stocker. Burba looked to have the race in hand as the laps wound down. Greg Stapleton however began his march to the front, Burba who was having a smooth going, but like a Stealth bomber Stapleton had suddenly caught Burba. Knowing he probably would only get one shot to pass Burba. He made his move on the white flag lap and just came up about six inches short in a thrilling finish. Mahaffey held on for third, with Donnie “Zero” Hill fourth and Brandon Oakley fifth.

In Modified action Brad Williams of New Carlisle picked up his first win of the season in his TSD backed open wheeler. Shane Shirk backed up his dash win with a second place finish in the feature.
Mike Carroll,Greg Stapleton and Brad Yelton rounded
out the top five. Stapleton was fast qualifier, with Jason Wells taking the heat win.

The street stock main was a paint trading event that left some drivers happy and few a little upset. Jim Lewis Jr was clearly the fastest car on this night as he set fast time and won the 25 lap feature. Rodney Roush, Mike Litchfield, Josh Sage and Ray Muncy finished second thru fifth. Chad Brandyberry was the heat winner.

The compacts closed the nights racing with fifteen cars taking the green flag to start the feature. Nicholas Philbeck was the early leader before giving way to fast qualifer and  fast heat winner Kenny George. George has dominated the class this season in his White Line Designs racer. Philbeck turned in a strong effort to finish second, with Chris Lucas third,

Dustin Durflinger fourth and Josh Foltz fifth. David Callahan was the heat winner.
This Saturday (May 24th) the Bowl host the late models,modifieds,street stocks,tuners, Dwarf and Pro-4’s.  Racing will start at 7. 

Late Models:
Fast Qualifier:  Greg Stapleton 13.599
Dash Winner: Don Mahaffey Jr.
Heat Winner: Josh Smith and Jim Lewis Jr.
Feature: (94 laps) 1. Bill Burba 2. Greg Stapleton 3. Don Mahaffey Jr. 4. Donnie Hill 5. Brandon Oakley 6. Cody Robinson 7. Russ Bobb 8. Dylan Troyer 9. Jacob Muncy 10. Matthew Parsons 11. Austin Troyer 12. Josh Smith 13. Chad Pendleton 14. Tyler Mahaffey 15. Nathan Herron 16. Ross Klinglehofer 17. Mike Ward 18. Bobby Justus 19. Mike Blankenship 20. Landon Sciacca 21. Jim Lewis Jr. 22. Jerry Stapleton

Dash Winner:  Shane Shirk
Heat Winner: Jason Wells
Feature: 1. Brad Williams 2. Shane Shirk 3. Mike Carroll 4. Greg Stapleton 5. Brad Yelton 6. Buddy Townsend 7. Donald Parsons 8. Jason Wells 9. Brian Brewer 10. Carl Stapleton

Street Stocks:
Fast Qualifier: Jim Lewis Jr.
Dash Winner: Ray Muncy
Heat Winner: Chad Brandyberry
Feature: 1. Jim Lewis Jr.2. Rodney Roush 3. Mike Litchfield 4. Josh Sage 5. Ray Muncy 6. Dave Sage 7. Richard Roush 8. Mike Snapp 9. Robert Roush 10. Chad Brandyberry 11. Roger Roush 12. James Hopkins

Fast Qualifier: Kenny George Jr. 17.086
Heat Winners: Kenny George Jr. and David Callahan
Feature: 1. Kenny George 2. Nick Philbeck 3. Chris Lucas 4. Justin Durflinger 5. Josh Foltz 6. Nicholas Meade 7. Andy George 8. David Callahan 9. Rob Sharpe 10. Dean Adams 11. Rob Taylor 12. Justin Pope 13. Andru Troyer 14. Aaron Chatfield 15. Tyler Sage
Burba Dean Memorial Winner at Shady Bowl
Wins 94-Lap Feature That Honored a Former Track Champion
Shady Bowl Speedway Press Release